Home > Emerald Foundation First Page > Human Rights Quotes

Human Rights Quotes

December 10, 2011

Human Rights Quotes:

“Spread love everywhere you go: first of all in your own house. Give love to your children, to your wife or husband, to a next door neighbor… Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness; kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile, kindness in your warm greeting.” -Mother Theresa

“First they came for the Jews and I did not speak out – because I was not a Jew. Then they came for the communist and I did not speak out – because I was not a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists and I did not speak out – because I was not a trade unionists. Then they came for me – and there was no one left to speak out for me.” -Pastor Niemoeler (victim of the Nazis)

“We could learn a lot from crayons: some are sharp, some are pretty, some are dull, some have weird names, and all are different colors …but they all have to learn to live in the same box.” -Author Unknown

“The only thing necessary for the persistence of evil is for enough good people to do nothing.” -Amnesty saying, unknown origin

“True peace is not merely the absence of tension, it is the presence of justice” -Martin Luther King Jr.

“Worrying does not empty tomorrow of it’s troubles, it empties today of it’s stength”
-unknown

“Hope is power” -Amnesty International

“We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams, we are the movers and the shakers” -O’Shaughnessy

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful commited citizens can change the world – indeed it is the only thing that ever does” -Margaret Meade

“If you judge people, you have no time to love them.” -Mother Theresa

“I feel morally and intellectually obliged to simply conceded that the death penalty experiment has failed….  From this day forward, I no longer shall tinker with the machinery of death.” -Former US Supreme Court Justice Harry A. Blackmun

“Please use your freedom to promote ours.” -Aung San Suu Kyi, Burmese
Democracy Leader and Nobel Peace Laureate

“You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.” -Mohandas Gandhi

“It’s really a wonder that I haven’t dropped all my ideals, because  they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart.” -Anne Frank

“Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.” -E. F. Schumacher

“When I dare to be powerful — to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.” -Audre Lorde

“Happy is the house that shelters a friend.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

“I would rather die on my feet than live on my knees.” -Charles Houston

“Nations will rise and fall, but equality remains the ideal.  The universal aim is to achieve respect for the entire human race, not just for the dominant few.”
-Carlos P. Romulo

“I am only one,
But still I am one.
I cannot do everything,
But still I can do something;
And because I cannot do everything
I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”
-Edward Everett

“All human beings, whatever their cultural or historical background, suffer when they are intimidated, imprisoned or tortured . . . We must, therefore, insist on a global consensus, not only on the need to respect human rights worldwide, but also on the definition of these rights . . . for it is the inherent nature of all human beings to yearn for freedom, equality and dignity, and they have an equal right to achieve that.”
-The Dalai Lama

“We protect only what we love, we love only what we know, we know only what we are taught.”
-Author Unknown

“Enemies publish themselves. They declare war. The friend never declares his love.”
-Henry David Thoreau

“Blessed is the influence of one true, loving human soul on another”
-Author Unknown

“Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains or slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take but as for me; give me liberty or give me death!”
-Patrick Henry

“I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.”
-Albert Einstein

“I must study politics and war that my sons may have liberty to study mathematics and philosophy.”
-John Adams

“If civilization is to survive, we must cultivate the science of human relationships – the ability of all peoples, of all kinds, to live together, in the same world at peace.”
-Franklin D. Roosevelt

“The hope of a secure and livable world lies with disciplined nonconformists who are dedicated to justice, peace and brotherhood.”
-Martin Luther King, Jr.

“If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain. If I can ease one life the aching, or cool one pain, or help one fainting robin unto his nest again, I shall not live in vain.”
-Emily Dickinson

Welcome to the online version of the human rights teaching pack produced by UNA-UK and UNESCO Associated Schools UK.

All the materials in the Human Rights Teaching Pack are available by clicking on the blue banners below -split into resources for teachers and students

Find and Learn Today : Learning About Human Rights

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 10, 2011 at 4:17 PM
  2. December 12, 2011 at 9:35 AM
  3. December 17, 2011 at 12:48 PM
Comments are closed.
